Welcome to History + Technology!

My name is Monica Ketchum and I’m Professor of History at Arizona Western College, where I teach a wide range of history survey classes in a variety of modalities, including traditional face-to-face; hybrid, or blended; and fully online. When I began my teaching career, classroom technology was limited to overhead projectors, televisions with VCRs, and chalkboards. Over the course of 15 years in higher education, I have witnessed the introduction of new technology and have incorporated many into my teaching. This blog is focused on integrating technology into history education at the college level, although I suspect that many teaching technologies will be applicable across several disciplines.

This blog is part of a course I am taking at Walden University, and as such my goals related to the course include:

  • Evaluating new technology and its applicability to teaching history
  • Integrating tech tools into online and hybrid learning environments to improve student collaboration
  • Improving accessibility for diverse learners using technology
  • Effectively employing technology to engage learners, develop historical thinking skills, and improve student learning outcomes

I’m looking forward to sharing what I learn with the community and value your feedback.

 

About ProfMoniK

History professor at Arizona Western College and lecturer at Imperial Valley College and San Diego State University-Imperial Valley Campus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Welcome to History + Technology!

  1. ritchiemayes says:

    Hello Monica,
    I love how your blog looks professionally constructed.
    Great job!

    Like

  2. Thach-Vu Ho says:

    Hi Monica,
    It’s good to have you in another class.
    Vu

    Like

    • ritchiemayes says:

      Hi Thach
      I am becoming interested in the power of Blogs to accommodate e-interactions and learning. This assignment represents the first time, I am seriously attempting to understand how digital technology impacts learning.

      Like

  3. I remember the squeaky wheels of the VCR being pushed into class. Those were the best days at school!

    Like

  4. ritchiemayes says:

    I remember the film strip and film projectors used as a teaching aid. VCR technology was not available in the early 1970s.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

